logo   Guide   Security   Recycling   Laws    History of Shredding
                                                                                                                        Resources   Glossary   FAQ

Paper Shredder Security Information

Types of Security Levels

There are currently six types of security levels available for paper shredders. Security-level one is the least secure and security-level six is the most secure. It is usually recommended to use at least a security-level three when shredding secure documents. Security-level six is reserved for top-secret documents. This is a list of the six types of security levels and what the general particle dimensions and applications are for each.

Security Level Shredding Sizes

Security Level 1

Designed for shredding general records, internal documents, and documents that need to be illegible after they expire.

Security Level 2

Designed for the shredding of internal/in-house documents. For shredding documents such as computer printouts or poor quality photocopies.

Security Level 3

Designed for shredding confidential documents and personal data.

Security Level 4

Designed for shredding secret documents and more sensitive information. Can be used by companies to shred confidential documents.

Security Level 5

Designed and approved by the U.S. Department of Defense and the Canadian R.C.M.P. for top secret shredding. Ideal for high-security requirements.

Security Level 6

This is the highest level of shredder security currently available. Backed by the U.S. government and the NSA. Ultra secure shredding for the most sensitive documents.
Copyright 2006 - logo
Questions, comments or suggestions!